Slepecky Award Winners

Title of Paper
Award Amount
2003 no prize given this year n/a n/a n/a n/a
2004 Danielle Jensen Bio Chemistry n/a n/a $750
2004 Kate Kowalski Civil and Environmental Engineering The Effects of Acidic Deposition on the Diversity and Recovery of Microbial Communities Dr. Andrea Costello-Staniec $100
2005 Danielle Schuehler Chemistry n/a n/a $750
2005 Tiffany Jones n/a n/a n/a $50
2006 Lisa Lahtinen Comm Sciences & Disorders The Effect of Contralateral Acoustic Stimulation on DPOAE with special attention to differences in DPOAEs for lower and higher-level noises Dr. Prieve $750
2007 Kelsey Breen Biology The Role of Estrogen Receptor Beta in Neonatal Oocyte Development Dr. Melissa E. Pepling $750
2008 Lindsay Avery Chemistry Using Functionalized Dihydropyrones to Control Diastereoselectivity in the Dihydropyrone Diels-Alder Reaction. Dr. Nancy Totah $750
2008 Stephanie Gindlesperger Civil and Environmental Engineering The Evaluation of Historical Changes in Mercury in Onondaga Lake, New York. Dr. Charles Driscoll $250
2008 Jemella C. Raymore Biology The Role of Estrogen Receptor Alpha in Early Mouse Oocyte Differentiation. Dr. Melissa Pepling $200
2008 Amy N. Otuonye Chemistry Multifunctional Nanomaterials for the Absorption and Release of Drugs. Dr. Teddy Asefa $200
2009 Caitlin Keating-Bitonti Earth Science How warm was the early Eocene? Paleotemperature Reconstructions for the U.S. Gulf Coast from the Shells of Venericardia (Bivalvia) Dr. Linda Ivany $750
2009 Megan Anne Larson Biology The Geographic Distribution of Polyploidy in A Pacific Northwest Plant Dr. Kari Segraves $300
2009 Kelly Whitenack Chemistry The Synthesis and Characterization of Novel Microporous Hybrid Organic/ Inorganic Materials with the Potential of Hydrogen Storage. Dr. John Zubieta $300
2010 Jessica L. Ebert Civil and Environmental Engineering The Dynamics of Hydrology and Mercury in Onondaga Creek During Storm Events Dr. Charles Driscoll $750
2011 Kristin Waller Civil and Environmental Engineering Recovery over TIME: The long-term response of lakes in the Adirondack region of New York to decreases in acidic deposition Dr. Charles Driscoll $500
2011 Danielle Hare Earth Science The effect of beaver dams on geochemistry of the hyporheic zone at varied depth and location over a range of discharges during flood recession Dr. Lauren Lautz $250
2012 Vivian Yaci Yu Chemistry Expression and Purification of Recombinant Saposin B for Coenzyme Q10 (CoQ10) Purification Dr. Robert Doyle $750
2012 Samantha Balakirsky Biology Investigating the Roles of Lhx1a/Lhx1b/Lhx5 in Zebrafish Spinal Cord Interneuron Specification and Function Dr. Katherine Lewis $300
2013 Korrie L. Mack Chemistry Reprogramming EF-HANDS for Design of Catalytically Amplified Lanthanide Sensors. Dr. Ivan V. Korendovych $750
2013 Nikolay I. Rrodionov Biomedical & Chemical Engineering Charge Distribution & Resurace Properties of the Tobacco Mosaic Virus 4-NM Central-Port Dr. Shalabh C. Maroo of MAE dept $350
2014 Katy Austin SUNY ESF, Env’tal & Forest Biology Effects of Nitrogen Deposition on Nitrogen Acquisition by Sarracenia purpura in the Adirondack Mountains, New York, USA Dr. Mark Teece $750
2014 Cambria Ziemer SUNY ESF, Environmental Resources Eng. Boundary Layer Conditions of a Shrub Willow Evapotranspiration Cover Drs. Wendong Tao (ESF) and Tony Eallondardo (OBG) $350
2014 Kristin Susan Weeks Biology Nutrient Limitation of Bean Plant Performance Under Co-Stress: Herbivory and Soil Halogenation Dr. Mark E. Ritchie $350
2015 Kewei Xu Chemistry Computations on the Primary Photoreaction of Br2 With CO2: Stepwise vs. Concerted Addition of Br Atoms Dr. Mark Braiman $750
2015 Emily Tucci Biomedical & Chemical Engineering A Comparison of Two Different Push-up Styles for Use in Rehabilitation Practices Drs. Angela Zachman (ECS) & Frederick Werner (Upstate) $350
2015 Jessica Ciesla ESF – Chemistry Fatty Acid Content in Four Octocorals and Two Scleractinian Corals in Relation to Species and Depth Dr. Jonathan Cohen $350
2016 Snigdha Chatterjee – joint 1st place Biology DDR1, An Arabidopsis Histone Demethylase Negatively Regulates Cell Death, Drought and Defense Against Pseudomonas Syringae Dr. Ramesh Raina $750
2016 Samantha A. Usman – joint 1st place Physics Observation of Gravitational Waves from a Binary Black Hole Merger Dr. Duncan Brown $750
2017 Albanie Hendrickson-Stives – 1st place Chemistry Direct and Indirect Photolysis of Aromatic Pollutants in Aqueous Solution Dr. Tara Kahan $750
2017 Genevieve Starke – joint 2nd place Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Directionality and Pulsing of Acoustic Propagation to the Far-Field of a Supersonic Jet Flow Dr. Jacques Lewalle $350
2017 Anniya Gu – joint 2nd place Biology UBR-5, a Conserved Hect-Type E3 Ubiquitin Ligase, Negatively Regulates Notch-Type Signaling in Caenorhabditis Elegans Dr. Eleanor Maine $350
2018 Katie Duggan – 1st place Civil and Environmental Engineering Analyzing the Toxicity of Cationic Polyacrylamide vs Cationic Starch on Aquatic Life Drs. Shobha Bhatia & Katharine (Kate) Lewis $750
2018 Meghan Lentz – 2nd place Physics Floquet Formalism and Perturbation Theory in the Low-Frequency Limit. Dr. Jay Hubisz $350
2019 Yongna Lei Biology & Chemistry Effects of ALS-Linked Mutations on the Liquid-Liquid Phase Separation Behavior of Ubiquilin-2 Dr. Carlos Castañeda $750
2020 Julia Riley – 1st place Biology Elucidating Cellular Stress Responses of ALS-Linked Biomolecular Condensates Dr. Carlos Castañeda $750
2020 Heather Sosnoski – 2nd place Biology Cysteine Transporter Compensation Occurs in the Brains of System xc- Null Mice Dr. Sandra Hewett $350
2021 Laurel White – 1st place Physics The Effect of Spin Priors, on the Determination of the Neutron Star Equation of State Using Gravitational-Wave Signals

Syracuse Stories article

Dr. Duncan Brown $750
2021 Aliza Willsey – 2nd place Aerospace Engineering Investigation of Mycelium Growth Network as a Thermal Transpiration Membrane for Thermal Transpiration Based Pumping and Power Generation Dr. Jeongmin Ahn $350
2022 Amber Vandepoele Forensic Sciences and Biochemistry Maximizing the Value of Evidence Through the Phylogenetic Differential Separation of Environmental Samples Dr. Michael Marciano $750